Skip to content

Hot Salsa Recipe…

November 8, 2010

Josh and I have finally done it. We’ve achieved one of our lifetime goals…we have successfully recreated Chipotle’s Hot Salsa recipe.

If only you had been there to witness all of our failed attempts, this post might actually seem as exciting for you as it is for us. I’m not sure if I can put into words how much my husband-to-be adores Chipotle’s hot salsa, and finally being able to make it for him means the world to me! He has done extensive research into the ingredients and has tried several recipes he’s found on line. One recipe he found involved broiling tomatillos which resulted in setting our smoke alarm off five times and a bowl of burnt green yuck. We have even frequented the Chipotlefan.com website (which we love) but found the recipes listed there to be pretty far from accurate (one used cilantro, which is definitely not in Chipotle’s hot salsa, and the other didn’t even include tomatillos, a documented main ingredient in their salsa).

So, finally, after several failed attempts I finally perfected the recipe, and here it is:

Disclaimer: This version is actually a bit a lot hotter than the Chipotle version (but that’s how we like it, for a tamer version go light on the arbol and ancho peppers) and it is certainly not for the faint of heart.

Ingredeints:

3 Green tomatillos

4 Large tomatoes

1 tablespoon garlic, minced

2 tablespoons chili powder

3 cups dried arbol peppers (sliced)

2 cups dried ancho peppers (sliced)

1 tbsp Mexican oregano

Directions:

All ingredients go into a blender together. Start by cutting the tomatillos and tomatoes into quarters and putting them in the bottom of the blender. Next, add the spices such as Mexican oregano, chili powder and garlic. Lastly add all the dried peppers (you can usually find these in the Hispanic section of your grocery store, they are dried whole peppers in bags), cut the peppers into 1/2 inch strips and discard of the stem. Blend well, refrigerate one hour, and enjoy! (if you prefer a thinner consistency add warm water when blending). Hit up my blog on making homemade chipotle burritos here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    February 22, 2011 17:03

    I’m so trying this tonight! I will post my results/opinion when I’m through. For the sake of my tummy, I hope this works!

  2. February 22, 2011 17:12

    You will have to alter it a bit to suit your tastes, my fiancé likes it awfully hot so these proportions make it super spicy! If you’re unsure I’d recommend adding small amounts of the peppers to start with. Also, it’s best after being refrigerated over night :-)

  3. Jennifer permalink
    February 5, 2012 16:00

    I love Chipotle’s hot salsa! This is very similar….of course like you said, it is REALLY REALLY HOT! So next time I will be cutting down how many peppers I use, my husband was coughing up a storm (not into super hot salsas). *I still loved it! Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

