Skip to content

Beat the Heat

May 24, 2010

The recent Minnesota Heat Wave makes it seem like we are roasting on the beaches of Mexico, but with much more humidity. My only advice: Go get yourself some margarita mix and enjoy some homemade salsa.

If you know my boyfriend you know he likes spicy food. And if you know me, you know I like to make spicy salsa.  I’ve had a few people ask for my salsa recipe, but its in my head and I’ve never even tried putting in on paper! I grew up with both my mom and dad each making their own homemade salsas, and I love them both! But, I’ve come to realize that my salsa takes ingredients and tips from each of their recipes.

Ingredients:

2 cans petite diced tomatos

1 large onion, finely chopped

1 can sliced jalepenos, finely chopped

2 habanero peppers (only if you like it hot, hot, hot)

Cilantro (as much as you can handle)

1 lime

Salt and Pepper

Chili Powder

I always begin by opening the tomatoes, putting them into a container and putting a small amount of salt, pepper and chili powder on them. I then chop the onion and jalapenos and add those. An electric chopper comes in really handy here (thanks, Mom).

After the onion and jalepenos are added its time for the brave to add some extra spice by dicing up habanero peppers. I learned this lesson the hard way, but the oils from these peppers hurt, especially under your fingernails, so use caution to not actually touch the peppers with your hands. If you fail here’s some help. Chop them up and toss them into your salsa.

Next I cut a lime in half and put it in the microwave for ten seconds. This part of salsa-making I learned from my Daddy :) The microwave gets the juices flowing. You can add just half the lime, or the entire thing, personal preference.

Last to enter this bowl of deliciousness is cilantro. Another salsa tip that I adopted from my Dad’s recipe. A lot of people don’t realize how spicy this stuff is, so add as much as you prefer. I like mine finely chopped and I normally use between 1/4 and 1/2 cup. I realize that chopping cilantro might also be something you aren’t familiar with, it’s awkward, learn some tips here.

Salsa should be refrigerated for at least an hour to let all the flavors mix together. I won’t even begin to tell you how good this stuff is if you add a cheese sauce and serve it Con Queso. Raise your hand if you’ve had your mouth burned by Storkie’s Cheese Dip! :) Enjoy!

P.S. If any of you have a good recipe for homemade margaritas, it better be coming my way!

Leave a Reply

