Skip to content

Minerally Speaking…

June 11, 2010

Although something tells me I’m about to out myself as the Bare Escenutals addict that I am, I don’t really mind and find this idea worth sharing. I’ve been using BE for almost six years, and I’ve always kept everything neatly organized in drawers. However, with limited drawer space in my new bathroom I was no longer given the luxury of wasting an entire drawer on my dozens (and dozens) of Bare Escentual Eyeshadows. The answer is using magnets and magnetic boards to neatly organize them on the wall! What could be more perfect? Not only are they easy to see, but this keeps them stationary so they aren’t always getting slammed around in a drawer. And to be honest I kind of think it looks creative. I think even Josh was impressed  (thanks for hanging up my eyeshadow board, honey).

So here is what you need:

1. Obscene amounts of BE eyeshadow. Or blush. Or whatever your drug of choice may be.

2. Magnets. These ones are round and come in a pack of 50 for $5.99.

3. A hot glue gun.

4. A few minutes to glue the magnets to the lids of your jars (and by the way, IKEA is a great place to get cheap magnetic boards.)Walla, being perfectly organized isn’t hard at all.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Christina H permalink
    June 11, 2010 17:45

    You are so CREATIVE…LOVE THIS IDEA!!

  2. Laura McCrary permalink
    June 13, 2010 22:12

    Thank you for the step-by-step instructions of creating this fabulous board. I’ve heard of women doing this but had no idea how to do it myself. Now my problem is going to BE how much of my BE do I want to display as others do not or will not understand why I have to have so many (yet it’s still in the BEginners stage compared to others). MayBE I could only display my “necessaries” and a few colors of eye & blush colors so they don’t see everything I own LOL
    Now I’m wondering if there was a way to add something on the board, like a small shelf that I could put my brushes on to get them off the counters & drawers, too?

  3. Kiersten permalink
    July 12, 2010 16:50

    This is absolutely brilliant. i am a BE addict and my makeup case (yes, case, no beginners bag, here!) is overflowing with those small black pots of eyeshadow. The mere fact that you see each color and they aren’t overcrowding anything? Love it. Love it a million times.

  4. October 30, 2010 20:45

    This is awesome!! Love it!!

  5. Cathy Maas permalink
    November 12, 2010 20:57

    I just have one question…..how do you organize your colors on the board? alphabetically? by type? by color?

  6. November 12, 2010 21:22

    I don’t have them in any specific order right now—-I like the way it looks when they are all random. But I use to organize them by color family.

  7. Cathy permalink
    November 20, 2010 08:32

    Well I finally got my board done and now the problem is what to do with the brushes and lipstick and the awesome Buxom glosses?????

Trackbacks

  1. Frost Your Cake… « Life's a Journal

Leave a Reply

