Skip to content

Snowtivities…

August 31, 2010

Last week’s cool (and beautiful!) weather got me looking forward to the cooler days of fall and winter.  This time of year always puts me in the mood to start thinking of what I want to do once winter hibernation mode sets in.   Winter for me usually means more frequent jewelry making, nothing beats curling up with a movie and a tray of beads on a snowy afternoon or evening.  But this year I’ve been inspired to step outside of my box and look to expand my list of Winter Hobbies. This year I want to…

1. Get a sewing machine and improve my sewing skills. I’ve made quilts, but the ability to sew in straight lines leaves me far from sewing dresses and other fabulous things.

2. Learn to cook something new every week.  I love to cook and I want to expand on the recipes I throw together on a regular basis. Cooking classes, cooking books, perusing cooking websites and blogs. I’m there.

3. Wedding Prep! I plan on making handmade jewelry in lovely peacock shades of blue and teal for all of my bridesmaids, junior bridesmaid, and flower girls. So I’m on the search for all of the perfect beads.  Other projects I’d love to tackle in a DIY Fashion: Customized peacock handbags for all the ladies, centerpieces, save the dates, invitations, wedding programs, and flowers.

4. Dance Lessons! That’s right, the future mister and I will be Fox Trotting and Waltzing like professionals before the snow melts.

I know its only four new things, but don’t worry, this is just what I came up with on one brisk 75 degree day, wait until it hits 60 and the leaves start to fall.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tonya Bestor permalink
    August 31, 2010 16:38

    Thanks for the inspiration on Snowtivities ~ I am going to get started with creating mine!!! Boy you would think we were related or something. I want to aquire a surger and learn to use it , been looking for a cooking class that inspires me, saw the coolest jewelry idea this past week and want to play….if we lived closer we would get nothing done, but we would have fun!

Leave a Reply

