Skip to content

Days gone by…

October 26, 2010

The summer after meeting my husband-t0-be, we both ended up living in Decorah, Ia, where we were both attending college. We both ended up living in off-campus houses that summer—-he in the Hedge House and I in The Campground. Shortly after settling in I set off on a road trip adventure to Colorado with my Dad, and since Josh and I had formed a friendship based primarily on music (okay, and his perfect hair and a secret crush on each other) he sent me off on the road trip with some tunes….a copy of Brett Dennen’s album So Much More.

Shortly after my return from the Mile High City, Josh casually mentioned that Brett would be performing in the cities….since I had just spent a week torturing my Dad with Brett Dennen on repeat, I didn’t hesitate one bit when I said “Let’s go!” Brett’s concert was the first concert we attended together, but certainly not the last. That night made me realize that Josh and I shared a passion for great live music, and I remember thinking that maybe I liked this Josh guy more than I was willing to admit.

Brett, of course, was great in concert (he performs barefoot), however, the stand-out memory that night was his opener Cory Chisel and the Wandering Sons. I refused to leave the venue without a copy of their CD, and they quickly became one of my favorite groups. Of course, three years have now passed since my friend Josh and I attended that concert and when I was recently trying to find a 25th Birthday gift for my fiance’ Josh, I was elated to see that Cory Chisel and the Wandering Sons would be visiting St. Paul.

So, this Thursday my guy and I will revel in those cherished memories of first dates concerts as we enjoy the toe-tapping tunes of Cory Chisel at The Turf Club in St. Paul.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

