Skip to content

Paper Peacocks…

October 27, 2010

If you’ve been following my Aisle File page on Facebook, then you already know I’ve been obsessed with Googling anything peacock. That, combined with a renewed obsession with Etsy, has caused me to add several DIY projects to my wedding “To-Do List”.

I recently stumbled upon these fabulous paper peacock place cards from TimelessPaper and completely fell in love with how delicate and dainty they looked while balancing on the edge of a wineglass…

…But, as a bride on a budget, $1.20 for 150-200 place cards was not in our decorating budget, so, I decided to do it myself, and here’s how…

1. I first did a pencil drawing of a peacock outline. I looked at peacock silhouettes and outlines for a rough idea and then drew it by hand. When I was satisfied with what I had drawn I went over the final outline with a sharpie and then scanned the final drawing.

2. Next, I opened the file in Photoshop, adjusted the brightness so that the outline would stand out, and then used the magnetic lasso tool to select it.

3. I then copied the selected outline, pasted it into a new PS document, and then duplicated the layer.

4. As a final Photoshop step I flipped the duplicated image so that the peacocks were facing each other and then drew in a small area to connect the two outlines.

5. Now the image is complete. I saved it as a JPG file, inserted it into a Microsoft word document three times. Walla! Ready to print, cut and decorate!

So, here is the finished product, I thought they turned out pretty well, and they didn’t take that long to cut out or decorate, definitely worth saving a couple hundred bucks!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    October 27, 2010 22:52

    Too Cute! Go you! I love DIY!!

  2. Linzy permalink
    October 29, 2010 02:28

    Yours is definitely better looking too!

Leave a Reply

