Skip to content

The Clip-on Conversion…

October 29, 2010

I know an abundant amount of women with heaps of clip-on earrings that they rarely wear. The majority of clip-on earrings are amazing, the downside is that if you have pierced ears, walking around with clip-ons gets a tad annoying (not to mention you are prone to losing one from time-to-time). My Grandma recently gave me several sets and I’ve had them piled in a box, unsure what to do with them.

That is just a small sampling of what I got, I literally got 20-30 sets of them. One of my favorites though, is this vintage necklace/clip-on earring combo. I love it so much that I realized I just had to figure out what to do about those dang clip-ons.

So yesterday, somewhere between getting up at 5:20 and staying out until 1:00 for the Cory Chisel concert, I test-drove this little DIY Project for converting clip-ons into post earrings.

The first step is pretty simple, you just break the clip off. Most of them you can break off with your hands, others might require a pliers.

You can purchase the posts at Michael’s, Hobby Lobby or any other craft or jewelry store. They typically carry them in gold and silver (I got both), sell for about $3 for a pack of 60 and also have gold, silver, or rubber earring backs.

The simplicity of the entire project is pretty evident when you see what a post consists of…

The important part is to make sure you are using the right adhesive, something that is made for  gluing metal to metal— crazy glue is not going to last very long and hot glue will not work. I asked my friends at Michael’s and they suggested this super-adhesive E-6000.

Obviously the next step is to simply glue the new posts onto the backs of the earrings. Use a small amount of glue and press the post into place for 15-20 seconds to make sure its secure.

Final step is simply to add the earring backs…

…and then, walla, finisimo!

I can guarantee you that I’m going to wear this set a lot more often now that it lacks those clips. And I could be wrong, but I think this is a fabulous project for moms or grandmas that have heaps of these things laying around. Convert them! Your daughters/granddaughters will think you’re super hip when you give them converted clip-ons for Christmas! Plus, they likely have sentimental value, and who doesn’t love that?

Leave a Reply

