Skip to content

Arti-Choke-to-Death Dip…

October 30, 2010

In my opinion Spinach-Artichoke dip is one of the best appetizers ever created. I will use any occasion as an excuse to whip a batch up, I’ve even made it in tinfoil pans and taken it camping (it’s delicious over a campfire, by the way). When I asked Josh what I should make to take to this evening’s Halloween Party, he replied “Ummm, Arti-Choke-to-Death Dip?” Since I thought the name was rather clever, I agreed to make it, and I thought I’d share the recipe in case anyone else needs some culinary Halloween inspiration…

Ingredients:

2 cups mozzarella Cheese

1/2 cup sour cream

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

1 tbsp ground black pepper

1 tbsp sriracha sauce (optional for extra-spicy)

3 cloves garlic, crushed

1 can artichoke hearts (drained and chopped)

2 (8 oz) packages of low fat or non-fat cream cheese

5 cups frozen spinach

1 roma tomato

Directions:

Combine 1 1/2 cups mozzarella, sour cream, 2 tbs parmesan and next 7 ingredients

Blend well.

Sprinkle with 1/2 cup mozzarella, 2 tbsp parmesan, and black pepper.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Top with diced tomatoes.

Serve with tortilla chips, browned pita wedges or fresh ciabatta slices (or, if it’s Halloween, blue corn tortilla chips!). I also mix it up sometimes by adding my own vegetables—-red or green peppers are delicious. I typically also add 1 tbsp crushed red pepper and 1 tsp cayenne pepper. Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 02:21

    It was delicious!!

Leave a Reply

