Skip to content

Trash the…wait, what?

November 3, 2010

The cost of a wedding gown doesn’t stop at the price you see on the tag. There’s accessories, shoes, and if you need a petticoat or crinoline those can get expensive. Next, you have alterations, which can cost several hundred dollars depending on what you need done. Lastly, when the wedding is over and all your gifts are opened and your thank-yous are sent, you have the expense of “storing” your gown. Depending on how you decide to store it, the process can be expensive, again costing up to several hundred dollars. Of course you can just opt to shove it in a closet, where it will consume space and deteriorate over the years eventually resulting in a garment bag full of dusty taffeta and lace.

Recently I’ve been turned on to the “Trash the Dress” phenomenon. Although not exactly new to the scene (Trash the Dress surfaced circa 2005 and is credited to photog John Michael Cooper of Las Vegas) it is becoming a more popular idea amongst brides.  Some people call is “Cherish the Dress” or “Rock the Frock” instead…but it all boils down to one thing….destroying your wedding gown.

Some brides might gasp at the thought of destroying their dress, but in my opinion “Why not?” I guarantee that in 30 years your unborn daughter is not going to want to wear it (but I bet she will love the photos that emerge from your Trash the Dress session), and I guarantee I would rather take that space in my closet that would be occupied by my vacuum-sealed gown and fill it with new clothes and expensive jeans. So, that being said, who wants to stick around after our wedding to see me jump gown-first into Lake Superior?

Below are some of my favorite “Trash the Dress” photos…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    November 3, 2010 18:42

    i wanted to “Trash the Dress” but i wasn’t brave enough to follow through….my dress is still hanging in a closet back home…

  2. November 3, 2010 19:07

    I wouldn’t say mine is trashed… muddy as all get out, but that will come clean. Still waiting on the gallery! It was a great time just to be able to put it back on for a few hours, and I highly recommend a second shoot whether trashed or otherwise–here’s a good example of a non-trash “revisit” from Krystal Mullenberg http://krystalmuellenberg.squarespace.com/home/2010/11/2/jess-and-dillondress-revisted.html

    Dani, you would make an amazing Lake Superior bride–and June is much more condusive to immersion in water than October =), so I’ll be a little envious. But looking forward to those keepsake images for sure!!!

  3. Meagan Jones permalink
    November 3, 2010 20:27

    Pretty sure I would pay money to see pictures of you jumping in Lake Superior. I put my tootsies in there on a hot day in July – freezing cold water! It’s always cold. Brrrrr!

  4. November 3, 2010 21:20

    Laura—-your Trash the Dress shots would have been awesome. I loved your dress and blue feathers! Hannah—<3 the link! I think "day after" shoots are SO fun, we'll definitely be doing one! And Meagan—I'm thinking a wet-suit rental is definitely going to be put into our wedding budget! Thanks for the insight, gals.

Trackbacks

  1. Trash the…wait, what? {2} « Life's a Journal

Leave a Reply

