Skip to content

Jeg Elsker Dig…

November 28, 2010

Having Norwegian heritage, I’ve gotten to try quite a few traditional Norwegian dishes. Ludefisk, a white fish prepared with lye, is at the top of my “Do Not Eat” list.  Rommegrot, a warm pudding served with cinnamon, is also a dish I don’t enjoy. It has a texture that is enough to make me nearly vomit.

So, at this years Thanksgiving when my grandma announced she had made Rommegrot Bars, I didn’t even consider taking a bite of one. That was, until I watched my fiancé devour six of them. Finally, I gave in and asked for a bite. It was the greatest thing I had ever eaten. Seriously.

Calling these things Rommegrot Bars is completely misleading—it tastes like a delicious cinnamon sugar cheesecake. If there is such a thing. So, without further ado, here is the receipe for Rommegrot Bars, straight from the kitchen of my fabulous Grandma…

Rommegrot Bars

Press 1 roll crescent rolls into 13″x19″ pan.

Mix:

1 cup white sugar

2 8 oz packages cream cheese

1 egg yolk (save egg white)

1 tsp vanilla

Spread over rolls. Cover with 1 roll crescent rolls.

Beat egg white, brush over rolls, sprinkle with 1/2 cup sugar mixed with 1/2 tsp cinnamon over top. Bake 20 minutes at 350 degrees.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

