Skip to content

The Gift of Gouda…

December 16, 2010

I know the holidays are  just around the corner because gift baskets keep pouring into the office and we keep divvying the goodies up among us.  Yesterday’s meat and cheese basket left me with a big round of Smoked Gouda. Not quite as exciting as the delicious jar of Raspberry Marmalade I got last week or the giant bag of pistachios that I left with on Monday.  The Gouda has sat on my desk for an entire day now and I just keep looking at it and thinking, “What am I suppose to do with you?”

Well, this is what I’m going to do with it:

Gouda Mac & Cheese

1 lb package short pasta (penne, elbow macaroni, etc)
4  tablespoons  butter
4  tablespoons  all-purpose flour
4  cups  milk
½  teaspoon  salt
½  teaspoon  fresh ground black pepper
½ teaspoon paprika
8-oz block sharp white cheddar cheese, grated and divided (about 2 cups)
8-oz block smoked gouda cheese, grated and divided (about 2 cups)

Cook the pasta according to package directions, set aside.

Melt butter in a large saucepan over medium-low heat; whisk in flour until smooth. Continue whisking and cook for 2 minutes. Gradually whisk in milk. Whisking constantly, cook for 5 minutes or until thickened. Reduce heat to low and stir in salt, black pepper and most of the cheese, reserving about a cup of cheese.

Pour the pasta in a lightly greased 8 x 11 x 2 baking dish. Spoon the cheese sauce over the pasta, stirring lightly to even out the sauce in the pan. Sprinkle the top with the remaining cup of cheese and the paprika.

Bake at 400° for 20 minutes or until bubbly.

Thanks to fellow bloggers Audrianna and Caroline at A Cozy Kitchen for the recipe.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cathy Maas permalink
    December 16, 2010 00:37

    I’m incredibly jealous! My husband is Dutch, straight from the Netherlands to the US, and we LOVE gouda cheese! There is nothing like Dutch cheese! YUM!!! Enjoy!

  2. December 16, 2010 06:36

    I stand corrected. He tells me that Smoked Gouda is nasty and that they don’t even sell it in Holland coz no one likes it. lol oops my bad!

  3. December 16, 2010 06:44

    Well, the recipe was quite delicious! I think you should make it for him and accidentally forget to mention the smoked gouda, I bet he’ll love it! Also, congrats on your European hubby, *wink wink*.

Leave a Reply

