Skip to content

Did you know rubber rots? Yeah, me either.

January 13, 2011

Last night I was busy packing for our getaway when I remembered a little incident that happened prior to Christmas…

Just before we departed for the Holidays I ran to grab my winter boots—–white and navy blue Columbia boots that my Dad had bought me. I grabbed the boots and immediately heard this weird crumbling sound. I looked down to see a pile of crunchy navy blue rubber on the floor and the insulation of my boots completely exposed. Suddenly I remembered that when I first got them they were huge on me, and my Dad had said something along the lines of “They might be big now, but they’re going to fit you for ten years!” He had bought them for me when I was 13. I am now old enough to own boots whose rubber has rotted.

Obviously traumatized, I pushed the incident out of my mind until last night, when I realized I would be left bootless for our snowmobiling adventure. Since I haven’t purchased boots in 10 12 years, I figured I better reacquaint myself with “cute winter boots”.

Pictured above are Solstice by Nike ($79.99) Nuptse by The North Face ($170.00), Flurry Omni-Heat by Columbia (96.00), Adirondack by Ugg ($250.00), and Winter Hi-3 by Nike ($59.00).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 05:10

    You need these instead!
    http://www.amazon.com/Sorel-Womens-Arctic-Shearling-Lined/dp/tags-on-product/B000S6VEKQ

    Just got them for Christmas (to get rid of my big-ugly-man-boots) and these new ones are wonderful and cute and practical and wonderful!

  2. January 15, 2011 19:24

    I’m going to plagiarize your post and say that those ARE practical and wonderful. I should look into Sorrels more.

Leave a Reply

