Skip to content

Live in the “now”…

January 21, 2011

I have a best friend who is…quirky, to say the least…a few months ago we were at a crossroad—no, literally, we were sitting 10 feet from the biggest mud puddle either of us had ever seen debating whether or not we should drive through it. We had decided it wasn’t a good idea until one of her regular mantras, “live fearlessly”, entered my mind, and with that we went forward…and ended up stuck in a foot of mud and calling a tow truck.

So, last night as I sat complaining about the temperature and thinking about spring, I could hear another familiar line of hers going through my head, “live in the now, live in the now”….and so, I’m embracing the winteriness. In honor of frigid temperatures, cuddling up with a good book, upcoming made-up holidays and my quirky bestest here is today’s inspiration…

Slippers from Victoria’s Secret, Heart-shaped coffee cup from here, cozy sweater from The Out Net, pillow available on Overstock.com, and the book is “What I know now: Letters to my younger self” (definitely on my to-read list).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2011 19:24

    Love this post. My dad passed that same “Live in the now” advice on to me after a “wise family friend” gave it to him when he was my age. It’s so easy to find ourselves saying: “I can’t wait until it gets warmer,” “I can’t wait until we have a bigger apartment,” “I can’t wait until I finally get my masters degree,”…and the list goes on. Keeping a good focus on appreciating what we have *now* can make such a positive difference in our attitudes and our lives!

  2. January 21, 2011 20:05

    It is great advice! Have you read that book? I really, really want to. The concept seems so awesome—-they asked 41 notable women to write a letter to “their younger self”…I’ve heard some awesome things about it!

  3. ashley permalink
    January 21, 2011 20:46

    That book is really good.. the second one is even better

Leave a Reply

