Skip to content

Say….cheese?

January 29, 2011

I’m on the third week of my diet and I have to say, Josh has been an absolute trooper at putting up with my dramatically changed eating habits. I’ve lost over thirteen pounds and have found a lot of creative ways to still eat our favorite meals. Actually, I am completely entertained by trying to take our favorite dishes and make them with a fraction of the calories or fat of the original recipe.

Last week I made steamed broccoli, and since Josh isn’t the biggest fan of it I knew I’d have to come up with something enticing in order to sell it. So, I came up with this recipe for a very low-fat “cheese” sauce (but more importantly, very low sodium)—it is phenomenal served warm on steamed vegetables, or served chilled to dip with fresh veggies. Of course the broccoli is healthiest by itself or lightly seasoned—-but for days when you just have to indulge, this is a great option.

Oh and, Josh, I’m sorry I lied and told you it was cheese. I hope you still think it’s delicious after you find out what it really was…

Ingredients:

1 Cup fat free Greek yogurt (plain)

1/2 tsp chili powder

1/2 tbsp light butter

1 tsp Mrs. Dash salt-free Garlic & Herb seasoning

Sriracha sauce (to taste)

Fresh cracked black pepper (to taste)

Directions:

In a small saucepan melt 1/2 tbsp light butter over low heat. Once melted, slowly stir in the Greek yogurt. Continue to heat and stir until the butter and yogurt combine, add seasonings. Add sriracha sauce and cracked black pepper to taste. Add 1-2 tbsp water to alter consistency.

Leave a Reply

