Skip to content

Pink Personality…

February 24, 2011

I got a little nervous about Pantone’s Color Pick for 2011. The honeysuckle pink is gorgeous, but I am so not a pink person. Thanks to my new Life’s A Journal Email Address, I discovered that I’m not alone. Over the weekend I received an email from a reader saying “Help! How can I wear this honeysuckle pink!?!” My thoughts exactly.

The good news is that almost anyone can wear this color regardless of skin tone or hair color, and it looks fabulous on anything from shoes, to nail polish, to a floor-length dress. But what about those of us that lack the pink personality? How can we sport this season’s hottest shade without feeling a bit out of place?

1. A simple accessory like a pink belt can go a long way and will work through all the seasons. I love the way it looks over a neutral cardigan or dress. (belt)

2. Florals. You get the pink without solid pink. (floral purse)

3. Other small accessories such as cocktail rings, necklaces, or earrings give you a fun opportunity to mix in the color. (Kate Spade cocktail ring, Cluster Ring)

4. Shoes. If you’re brave enough to wear pink shoes but concerned about looking 12, try picking more mature styles like loafers or studded boots and avoid pink Maryjane’s or other styles that can look a bit juvenille. (loafers, boots)

5. A work-appropriate honeysuckle shoulder bag from Kate Spade totally says “sophisticated” yet shows you’re trendy. (pink bag)

6. No matter how “un-pink” your personality is, it always looks great on fingernails. If all else fails, throw the color on during your next manicure and call it good. (Nars, OPI)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. shannon lowe permalink
    February 23, 2011 11:07

    I love this Danielle! I want every single product shown up there. I have to admit, I was actually excited to find out honeysuckle was the “it” color this season. My mission is to find it in a lip color ASAP.

  2. February 23, 2011 11:11

    You are the epitome of a “pink personality”, Shan. Bubbly and always glowing. I’m the girl that had to be reminded to smile, remember? lol. That lipstick is going to be adorable on you. You should really experiment with Cherries on Top mixed with sumthin lighter.

Leave a Reply

