Skip to content

Bare With Me: Laurie Maxwell…

November 10, 2010

Welcome to the first installment of Bare With Me, during which we will meet Laurie Maxwell, a Bare Escentuals addict and member of “Leslie’s Angels”.  Among the large society of Angels, Laurie stands out for being the poet of the group, commonly known as Lollie or the Poet Laurie-ette by friends. Laurie was introduced to BE in 2008 and was inducted as an Angel in the program’s inception in July 2009. You might wonder why I chose Laurie as my pioneer interviewee for Bare with Me. I don’t know Laurie personally and have never had the pleasure of meeting her, it was simply the personalitybeaming from photos I saw of this energetic Angel and the creativity she obviously possessed. I hope you enjoy reading Laurie’s BE Story as much as I did…

Name: Laurie Maxwell
Background info:  51 years old, Native Georgia Peach
Foundation Shade:  Original: Light   Matte: Golden Fair
Location:  Atlanta, GA
Started Using BE in: September, 2008
Angel Since: Inception of Program July, 2009

Summarize your collection: I’m not a counter. I don’t keep a spreadsheet of my inventory (as many BE addicts do).  If I had to venture a guess, I would say I probably have 200 eye colors and lots of other products. My collection is ever changing.  I trade or give away as much as I have.  So, it’s hard for me to keep up with what I actually have.

How do you prefer to organize your BE? My daily “Tool Box” is a professional train case and the Purist (white) full sized brush roll.  For everything else, I have a 3 compartment project organizer from an office supply store.  The top compartment in where I keep my open items that are rotated according to seasons.  The next compartment contains sealed (new) eye colors and the bottom compartment contains sealed (new) face & body minerals.  Skin care & extra brushes have their own separate storage places.

How did you get started using BE? Do you recall what your first product was? My younger sister was using BE and kept insisting that I try it.  I had given up on all makeup because it melted off of me in the heat and humidity.  I saw Leslie Blodgett on QVC and she was selling the “Diamonds” kit .  I purchased that and asked the operator to help me with a foundation shade.  That started the love affair for me.

What is your current favorite product? I am all about the shimmer and the sparkles!  Radiances, Gossamers and Shimmery Body Minerals are my must haves.  If it doesn’t sparkle, I don’t want it.

What is a favorite discontinued product that you wish Leslie would bring back? RUBY RADIANCE! It was sold as a part of the Ruby Collection that came out in the holidays of 2009.

Have you ever used your BE for anything “out of the ordinary” or found
that a product has multiple uses?
I put gossamers in my hair for a shimmery effect.  I use the Rare Minerals nighttime treatment on any skin problems.  Bites, bumps, whatever, it clears it up.

If you could have a lifetime supply of ONE BE product (old or new)
which would it be and why?
It would have to be the original foundation.  I never want to be without it.

If someone is new to BE and hesitant to try it, what is the #1 reason
you give them for “taking the plunge”, and which product do you
recommend?
Start with the foundation.  It’s idiot proof.  If you need “Makeup for Dummies”, this is as easy as it gets. You can’t mess it up even if you tried.  If you can move a brush, you can apply this like a pro.

You’re going out of town for one night, which BE products do you take with you? Neck cream, Moisturizer, eye cream, cleanser, foundation, radiance, mineral veil, 3 or 4 fave eye colors that can be interchanged for different looks, at least 2 liner shadows, brushes and mascara.

If you could spend a day with BE’s Research & Development team
creating a new product, what would it be?
Either lavender/plum tinted gossamer or a “Lollie” Buxom.  (Lollie is a nickname of mine that has stuck with me for over 30 years!)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Cathy Maas permalink
    November 10, 2010 21:06

    Great choice to begin with!
    Nice to meet you Lollie! You’re as cute as a button!
    Glimmer & shine at our age? You betcha! You go girl!

  2. Marie permalink
    November 10, 2010 21:58

    This BEautiful woman is a love of my life, she is the true meaning and essence of “ANGEL” !There is nothing she would not do for you, a BEtter choice you could not have made for your first interviewee…
    Very Sincerely Yours,
    Marie C. McKenna

  3. November 10, 2010 22:02

    Yay! Miss L is an amazing person. So lucky to have her as a friend.

  4. Kelly permalink
    November 11, 2010 01:38

    Very good article!! Hi Lollie! From another BE Leslie’s Angel!

  5. Deanne permalink
    November 11, 2010 02:48

    Happy to meet ya! Love the pictures.

  6. November 11, 2010 06:35

    Dani did a super job of making me look good! I am so fortunate to have found this network of amazing women to accept, love & support!

    Lollie lives in the hearts of few, but the circle grows with friends anew.
    Hope and Love will feed this flame and all are welcomed just the same.
    My life is full and joy abounds as we all share stories and common grounds.
    This journey is complicated, but in spite of it all, I will learn to fly and not to fall.

    Peace and Love to all! Laurie

Trackbacks

  1. Life's a Journal

Leave a comment